You are here


Brief description: 

This is the 15th melakartha raga and belongs to the 3rd chakra - Agni (mnemonically referred to as Agni – go). Originally known as Malavagowla, the prefix ‘Maya’ was added only after the 72 melakartha system came into existence to fit into the Katapayadi sutra. It is an early morning raga. Purandaradasa, the composer of the basic exercises, used this ragam for all the exercises. Bhairav of Hindusthani music is equivalent to Mayamalavagowla.

Aarohana & Avarohana: 

S R1 G3 M1 P D1 N3 S-S N3 D1 P M1 G3 R1 S

Associated Popular Compositions / Artists:

Post your comments

Copyright 2015 © Musicrux All Rights Reserved.